Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cookingrvc_gw

Can I lower the wattage? Gu24 13w bulb

cookingrvc
13 years ago

Just had pendant lights replaced in kitchen and didn't realize they have the squiggly bulb. So, the dimmer (sob) had to be eliminated and the light is a bit too bright.

I have no idea if there's a lower wattage or whether I can safely reduce the wattage.

The pendant is made by Globe-electric. Mini pendant model 6318001; item 0166211.

Thanks,

Sue

Comments (15)

• DavidR
    13 years ago

GU24 lamps are self-ballasted. You can install any GU24 bulb that will fit the fixture. The problem is that I have yet to see any GU24 CF lamps smaller than 13 watts. (Not to say they don't exist, I just can't find them.)

However, Maxlite makes a dimmable 15w GU24 CF. There may be other makers but that's the one I came across first. No endorsement intended, I have no experience with these.

Here is a link that might be useful: Maxlite dimmable GU24

• roadbike
    13 years ago

Hi. Amazon has a couple of listings for GU24 9 watt bulbs, so check there and your local lighting shop. The dimmable GU24 should work and give you a lot of light for those rare situations when you need that much. My experience with with dimmable CFL's is that they have to be switched on at maximum power then dimmed down.

• cookingrvc
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Ok great. We'll put back the dimmer switch and get the dimmable bulbs. Perfect. Thank you.

Sue

• Granite_Man
    13 years ago

Be wary of the Maxlite dimmable GU24.

We have used them over our kitchen island and the flickering and variation in color between the two bulbs has proven quite annoying.

We switched over to the Bulbrite version of the dimmable 13W GU24 and have been pleased.

• cookingrvc
    Original Author
    13 years ago