Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
novice_from__ct

Need Living room recessed lighting help please!

novice_from__ct
10 years ago

We are doing some remodeling in a house built in 1987. The living room/dining room (it's open floor plan) is getting a new ceiling so we have to put in some recessed lights. We will also have a chandelier and 2 library lights over bookcases. The room is 22x22 with 9 foot ceilings. The electrician came today and mentioned doing LED recessed lights. They look very modern and sleek but I have no idea what the light itself will look like when turned on. He installed one in one of our old cans just so I could see the light but it was hard to tell since it was in the middle of the day. Also, when we tried to dim it, it flickered but he said that was because our existing dimmers are made for incandescent lights. He also mentioned that he could take our old "cans" and fit these new LED lights inside. I am very new to this that it was all a bit overwhelming! A friend just built a high-end house and did all halogen recessed lights. I'm totally confused. Can someone please tell me the difference in layman's terms? I understand LED is energy efficient, and from what I understand, regular incandescent bulbs are a thing of the past. Please help!

Comments (8)

• lee676
    10 years ago

The look will vary considerably depending on what brand, model, size, type, and brightness the particular LED lights are. Better quality ones won't flicker even when dimmed with most dimmers designed for incandescent lamps, and give off high quality light. If you already have the cans, you can get replacement light LED reflector bulbs that re-use the existing trim baffles, or you can get LED modules that include both a light and a built-in trim kit. The latter option is probably better if you're installing new cans, and maybe even if you're not. LEDs use much less power than incandescent bulbs, last much longer, and don't get hot if you're underneath them.