Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clinresga

MR16 can replacement

clinresga
10 years ago

I am a total lighting newbie, so forgive me if I'm asking dumb questions. Our home office was remodeled about 13-14 years ago. For lighting, there were nine Eurofase TERE-00 3'' recessed MR16 halogen cans installed. They are now failing: specifically, the two-pin sockets appear to be wearing out or corroding so that they do not make reliable contact with the bulb pins. A local handiman replaced the sockets by just wiring new ones in, but the heat from the bulbs has caused the wire nuts to crack and fall off. So, unless someone knows a better way to fix the sockets, I guess I'm looking at replacing the entire fixture?

If so, my question is whether there are alternatives (presumably, LED) to the halogens. What little I know suggests that MR16 LED replacements are tricky, with compatibility issues with the transformers, heat issues, etc. I'd rather not have to rewire the entire ceiling for line voltage, so if you were in my shoes would you:

Put in all-new LED fixtures? If so, what kind would work in the existing cutouts?

Stick with the same fixtures but use a retrofit LED bulb?

Or is that enough of a hassle that I should just go with replacement halogens?

Comments (15)

• David
    10 years ago

You might already have line voltage wiring.

Check if your existing lights have a built-in power supply with line voltage input.

Were the lights installed as retrofit ie- holes were cut in the ceiling and the lights installed from below?

• clinresga
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Sorry for delay in response! They were installed as part of a rather comprehensive redo. I'm pretty sure we're limited to low voltage as there's a transformer in the basement.

• David
    10 years ago

If the installed cans are the following
    http://www.eurofase.com/products/browse.cfm?productID=34125c24-3048-8bc6-c359-a1827b550b1c

They use line voltage for each can.