Return to the Lighting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie needs feedback on kitchen lighting scheme PLEASE!

Posted by blaster1492 (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 10, 14 at 2:49

Hello everyone, I'm a total lighting novice and am about to embark on complete kitchen renovation and I could REALLY use your advice on the lighting. I have attached the layout. GC is suggesting 8 recessed 6'' lights. I am a little concerned we need more - at least 10, and we are especially wanting ample light because we have darker oak floors and are getting dark cherry cabinets (countertop will be a creamy granite). The ceilings are 9 ft tall and cabinets are 42"+a few inches of crown. I am not planning on doing pendant lights over island, just the cans and of course under cabinet lighting.

On the diagram I put lights in where they make sense to me, but again I have no idea what I'm doing. I would really appreciate some feedback. I also have a few specific questions:

1. Should I still do an over-sink light since there is a normal can pretty close?

2. The can in the middle row all the way to the right is basically right by a tall pantry. I feel like there should be a light around there but not sure how functional it will be with tall pantry right there. Any thoughts?

3. Should there be some more lighting between the first and second rows? (basically the inside of the kitchen triangle) Any solutions to space lights more effectively rather than add more lights?

THANK YOU so much for your advice. I can't tell you how appreciate I am for your thoughts and expertise!

Alex

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie needs feedback on kitchen lighting scheme PLEASE!

At first glance it doesn't look like enough light to me, but you need a better opinion.
You really should go on the Kitchens board. Everyone there is amazing and helpful, and many people there are really, really smart And they're obsessed and on all the time..
This board (Lighting) can be helpful, but responses are slow and rare.

o