Return to the Lighting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
searching for ucl, in led rgb.

Posted by Renosarefun (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 25, 14 at 14:27

I've been doing a search for several months now on a good quality set of Leds and haven't had much luck. Presently I have16� of T8 fluorescent bulbs (34w each x5 bulbs) and the lighting is great. Below or my requirements if anyone has any suggestions.

Prefer 12V but would consider 24V
Requiring, 16.5' of under counter light
16.5' of corner glass cabinet light.
16.5' of baseboard lighting.
Able to work off of a light switch as well as remote.
Led rgb, remote is a must as it will be color changing.
Most importantly, high lumens per foot.
that are dimmable and in RGB, therefore it will need a controller.

I found a relatively inexpensive set from Costco to try out, (Sylvania Mosaic) but it was about 40% of the brightness that I wanted. It didn't state the lumens per foot, but it was expandable to 20'. I thought of adding an amplifier but then it would be 80% of the brightness I required.

Anyone knows of a set that would meet my requirements.

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: searching for ucl, in led rgb.

Did you look at superbrightleds.com or environmentallights.com?

You might want to consider deploying 2 separate lighting setups -
1. White light with high CRI (Color Rendition Index) for task lighting.
2. RGB strip with an appropriate controller.

Control can be very elaborate using either an enOcean or Zigbee controller and switch.

RGB lights are mostly deployed for accent lighting and usually do not do well as task lights.

o

Thanks for the reply davidtay;

I did take a look at Superbrightleds, but not enviromentallights.

I believe you're suggesting one can't easily obtain both task and accent lighting with a standard rgb led whether it be ribbon or otherwise?