Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
octus99517

Combining pendant and recessed lights to light a dining table

Octus99517
13 years ago

Hi all, first time poster. I have a 30' x 14' great room with an 8' ceiling and am using one half of the room as a dining room. I am starting from scratch on the lighting. My current plan is to drop a non-dimmable drum pendant light above the center of the dining room table and then to use 4 dimmable recessed lights with par30 75w bulbs in a 7'-sided square around the table. Here are my questions:

1) What should be the total wattage of the pendant light to provide adequate light for the table?

2) Does this setup make sense in general? Any obvious improvements?

Thanks in advance!

Comments (5)

• DavidR
    13 years ago

With a configuration like that you are locking yourself (and anyone who buys the house later) into a single location for the dining table. What if you decide later that you want it 5' closer to the kitchen?

I'm not a lighting designer, but I'd recommend a combination of surface mount and pendant lights that provide good general illumination for the entire room. IMO, recessed cans are ill-suited to general illumination and are practical only for highlighting fixed room features.

• ResourcefulDesigner
    13 years ago

I'm not sure why you would want to surround a pendant with pot lights but agree with davidr on the commitment but disagree on the illumination of the recessed cans. I just installed some in my mothers kitchen to replace a couple of the existing ones that she had and we only have 65 watt bulbs in them and the lighting is great. Of course it is a small kitchen though. The baffle you choose is what makes the difference in how much light you'll get...Some are made to flood the light, some direct it straight down, and others can be directed to focal points, etc...(not a lighting designer either, so not sure if I'm saying that right, but you get the idea).

• DavidR
    13 years ago