Return to the Lighting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
4" ic vs 6" led vs 4" led

Posted by chris401 (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 19, 13 at 2:17

Hi all,

I'm very new to lighting, but recently ran across an item where we could presumably save some money. The architect spec'd 150 4" incandesent recessed lights for the new house we are building. Not sure if that's a lot, and wasn't really paying attention to it until a contractor said if we switched those to 6" LEDs. He said that would be significantly cheaper ($50/can savings). But presumably the architect spec'd the 4" because the size is smaller and looks nicer. To which I wonder, perhaps I should see if there are 4" LEDs.

Apologies in advance for what i might have learned with more effort. I started to read the threads on the first few pages, but I got lost in the acronyms and could not find an easy to understand pro/con list. If you can point me to a source, my thanks and apologies. Or if you don't mind replying many thanks in advance.

Have a great day

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: 4" ic vs 6" led vs 4" led

Yes there are 4" LED can lights - CR4 (for example).

The following thread has more information

Here is a link that might be useful: Recessed light guide

o

Ok, I did some more research and went to a lighting store. They had Sylvania RT4 and it looked good. I think I prefer the 3000k color temp over the 2700k color temp.

Can anyone point me to a comparison between Sylvania RT4 and the Cree CR4? I read the lengthy "Design Guide for Kitchen" thread and other threads, and it appears that everyone favors the Cree. But why is it better than the Sylvania? I know I like the look--on and off--of the Sylvania. How does Cree CR4 look in comparison?

Thanks in advance

o

Better dimming, quicker response when turned on.

o

I didn't bring home a 4" Sylvania, but I can provide a comparison to the RT6.

I, too, prefer the 3000k color over the Ecosmart/CREE 2700k color.