Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sixkeys

Flooring for 2nd floor laundry room

sixkeys
10 years ago

I am looking for suggestions on what flooring is best for a 2nd floor laundry room. I was thinking probably tile? The hallway will be hardwood.

Thanks!

Comments (4)

• enduring
    10 years ago

When I was doing my main floor laundry I paid special attention to the requirements of my W/D set. My instructions stated to place the set next to a load bearing wall. I have joist 16" on center and they are relatively short at 8 or 9' long. So there is no spring to the floor system. I have a 1..5" subfloor. Then a 3/8" underlayment, followed by an uncoupling membrane by Latacrit, then finished with my tile. The membrane and tile I don't consider adding strength. The strength comes from the joist and subfloor setup. This is how I understand it but I am not a professional builder or tiler, just a DIY'er.

There have been post where individuals report a lot of bounce to their floors with a W/D in use. I believe these floors are the ones that have long joist and the W/D set is set nearer the center of the floor system where there is no support. It becomes a trampoline. This is especially important with a front loader. I don't know about top loaders.

If you use tile, you will want a very stiff floor system anyway, so that flexion of the joist don't crack the tile, with or without the W/D setup. There is a formula to use to calculate joist length, thickness, and spacing, to determine appropriateness for installation of tile. Natural stone takes an even stiffer floor.

• sixkeys
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for all of the detailed information! We did the floor joists 12" on center, rather than 16" and they are about 8-9 feet long. The W/D will definitely be next to a load bearing wall, and I think there is even a strong beam underneath them (not 100% sure). Sounds like we should be ok for tile. Would my tile installer know that formula that you mentioned?