Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
matt_shaver_gw

Time for a new W/D - what's good, what's not.

matt.shaver
13 years ago

Dear All,

Lowes has surprised me to replace our 3 year old Bosch Nexxt 500 set and is sending us a gift card for purchase price plus tax. Although I liked our Bosch W/D the washer has left a bad taste in my mouth and I've been battling it for 4 months...so I'm unsure of the Bosch Vision track record.

Here is what I can get at Lowes:

1. Whirlpool

2. Maytag

3. Bosch

4. Electrolux

5. Samsung

6. Fischer/Paykel

I'd like to replace it with another FL because of the sanitary options. I like the Electrolux but what are your thoughts?

Matt

Spfd IL.

Comments (9)

• gates1
    13 years ago

Out of your list, ID go for the Samsung or Electrolux, more so on the lux for its capasity and larger washer and dryer door opening

• matt.shaver
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I'm sort of tied to Lowes because they are giving us a gift card for the set. I do not think they sell LG. I just want something that is nearly trouble free and works and well built. I do like to Electrolux a lot and the reversible washer door is a winner for me personally.

• livebetter
    13 years ago

I read somewhere that the failure rate for most machines is less than 5%. I really think it's a matter of odds.

I've had my FL Frigidaire for 10 years and not one problem.

I'm ordering new ones (Bosch or Miele) and am worried they won't be as trouble free.

I think it's a bit of a "crap shoot" :0

Pick the machine you like the best (features, capacity, etc) and hope you don't get one of the 5%. I'm sure more people are happy with their units than you know (they just don't have anything to complain about so we don't hear from them).

• Saypoint zone 6 CT
    13 years ago

If you ask them, Lowe's will probably agree to giving you a check instead a gift card, particularly if it's the extended warranty servicing company that is refunding.