Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ajspark_gw

Need to replace under-counter FL set

ajspark
12 years ago

Hi everyone,

I've enjoyed the garden forums for a long time, but this is my first time in the laundry forum.

I'm in a bit of a dilemma. In '97 we purchased a Frigidaire Gallery front-loading washer and dryer set that had removable tops, and we installed them under a counter in the laundry room. They've been GREAT and we've been very happy with them. Over the years we've had to replace various knobs and other little things that were relatively easy to take care of, but now the washer is getting really noisy during the fast spin and hubby thinks the bearings are going out. So I've been looking for replacements.

I'd like get new ones that are basically the same as these -- they're each about 27" W, 34 5/8" H, a bit over 24" deep - perfect! The washer has a 2.7 CF capacity and a stainless steel drum. But I'm getting really frustrated -- the under-counter units are either no longer available, or too high, or ridiculously expensive.

Does anyone have recent experience with front-loaders that will fit under a countertop? We don't want to tear out the counter over the laundry pair (part of a 10' counter that also includes a laundry sink) but we don't want to buy something that fits the space but isn't dependable. Both positive and negative feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Comments (14)

• clubcracker
    12 years ago

What about the Bosch Axxis? The capacity is slightly lower but the size is right there. I think I've seen a smaller ASko set in my wanderings too...

• ajspark
    Original Author
    12 years ago