Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ginnyjj9b

40 yr old Kenmore washer won't spin

ginjj
9 years ago

I know I'm lucky to have a 40 year old Kenmore washing machine that still works. I've had it serviced by Sears only a few times over the years. I need them again now.

The washer will not spin at the end of the cycle to remove the water. Everything else seems normal.

Is there anything I could do or something in particular I should ask that they bring before calling them?

Thanks,
Ginny

Comments (23)

• moviegeek
    9 years ago

There's another thread with a similar question:

http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/laundry/msg102209415989.html?7

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    9 years ago

I'm no expert but I had the same problem years ago. The transmission was not working. Time to buy a new machine as it will be expensive to fix especially for an old machine.

Linda

• lee676
    9 years ago

These are usually quite easy to repair - they were made by Whirlpool, and between those two brands (and a few others) oodles of these machines were made and they didn't change much year to year so parts are still readily available and lots of people know how to work on them. These had belt drive, and if the belt snaps it won't spin (I thjnk). There are others on this forum who know much more about appliance repair than me hopefully they'll chime in, I never owned a Whirlpool-built washer but have worked on them.

• dadoes
    9 years ago

You didn't include the model number (why do people keep asking repair questions and not include this necessary detail???) ... but assuming it's a belt-drive machine there are several possible causes.

Bad lid switch.

Bad shift coil.

Worn belt.

Worn clutch.

Among others depending on the details of exactly what is and is not happening.

• ginjj
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for all the ideas and encouragement to getting it fixed.