Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
polyd_gw

Any one use powdered detergent?

polyd
9 years ago

I found some small boxes of Sun powdered detergent on sale for 75 cents at walmart.

I bought it soley based on the smell. It smells JUST like a laundromat! It took me instantly back to being a kid, washing and drying clothes with my mom in the laundry mat. For some reason I loved that smell. This soap smelled just like that. I've never used powder before- usually I use liquid ecos.

But it begs a question- looking at the isles of soap- it seems powdered soap is the cheapest per load. Does any one use it over liquid? Prefer it's cleaning abilities? What reason do you use it?

Comments (20)

• moviegeek
    9 years ago

I can't stand powdered because it leaves stains on my clothes and makes me sneeze, I also prefer liquid because I can use it to pre-treat stains. I use Gain liquid.

I know I am paying more per load but the pros outweigh the cons.

This post was edited by moviegeek on Mon, Oct 20, 14 at 12:09

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

We use the powdered Costco concentrate ... cheapest.

The trick for getting it to dissolve is to put it in first, right under the place the water will land. Run in a few inches of water, then add clothes.

• teresa_nc7
    9 years ago

I sometimes use Charlie's Soap, a detergent company based in North Carolina, that uses less detergent per load. I also use other dry detergents, but usually buy what is on sale, liquid or dry. I've often used Arm & Hammer dry detergent when my boys were living at home. There is another dry detergent that I sometimes buy, but the name escapes me now. It is very economical.

Teresa

• dadoes
    9 years ago

ÃÂ
    Yes, Tide HE (with Bleach when I can find it). Also Sears powder. Occasionally Fresh Start, it's not all that great of a detergent any more but I like the scent and it's OK on lighter-duty loads.

• sparky823
    9 years ago

Cheer Powder for colors--no brighteners to fade colors.