Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chuffle

Thoroughness of Affresh in FL Washer Without 'Clean' Cycle?

chuffle
12 years ago

I'm new to the Laundry Room forum, though not new to laundry (I am a long time "master chemist," as noted in the article posted about detergent over-dosing).

I own a four year old Kenmore FL washer (a Frigidaire FTF530FS under the skin) and it's partner dryer - purchased because space in the bathroom is tight. Four, five, six loads a week and never a problem (though I have read horror stories about this machine and hold my breath every time that I use it). Without being told to do so, I have always left the door open when not in use, wipe down the door seal/boot, clean the detergent tray once a month, and have never had a mold or funky odor problem. I do warm washes and hot washes, the hot washes are always the last of the day, the thought being that the hot water would keep gunk under control. I use fabric softener sparingly, and follow detergent dosing guidelines. I don't use bleach, but do use Sun's version of OxyClean on whites.

Just recently, I re-read the owner's manual, and discovered (I guess I don't read thoroughly) that it is recommended that I run a bleach wash once a month.

Now that you have waded through the above, here is my question: Seeing as I have never done a bleach wash, I got the idea that I should run Affresh through the machine - and was wondering about how effective the product is, seeing as my machine does not have a "washer clean" cycle? Will the Affresh do much to clean the top and rear of the outer drum?

I have a tendency to obsess over things, and this has been on my mind the last day or so.

Any thoughts will be appreciated!

Joe

Comments (8)

• asolo
    12 years ago

"Clean machine" cycles, in machines that have them, are nothing more than water-only slosh-around cycles that heat the water to the max capable, then drain. With or without bleach. That's all they do.