Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fairymeadows

Sour Towels!!

fairymeadows
15 years ago

We just bought a new LG frontloading washer & dryer about 3 months ago and although they both work great at first, I noticed my towels were beginning to smell sour after awhile. The longest time they have left in the washer would be half hour to 45 minutes but I've had them in longer in my old washer without getting sour.

I can't even use a washcloth once without it smelling sour already.

I've put the washer through a tub clean cycle with bleach and cleaned the water filter but the sour still continues. I've immediately put the wet towels into the dryer with no luck.

I just put in smaller loads and on a hot cycle and that seems to work but I don't want to use hot every time.

Anyone else has the same problem with LG frontloading. I used all the proper cycles according to the type of clothing (ie towel cycle,etc)

Any suggestions are welcomed. I'm fairly new to these front loading machines!

Comments (24)

• asolo
    15 years ago

With previous TL's for decades and with current Duet for three years, I've frequently left wet clothes in my machines overnight or sometimes 48 hours with no hint of what you describe.

Nothing's growing on your clothes in the short time you've described. Something pre-existing in water or machine is being deposited on them. I'd bet on deposits already existing in the machine and being transferred. Relief after a hot cycle, then returning on other cycles, seems strong indication.

Next time you sense your sour-smelling towels as you unload, suggest waiting overnight or two nights, then running the machine empty on warm without any cleaning products at all. Wait until it tumbles and sloshes for 10 minutes to stir things up. Then open the door and take a whiff. I'll bet you'll smell it.

• mc58
    15 years ago

Do you leave the door open & wipe down the rubber gasket after use?
    It could be mold that is starting.
    What type of soap do you use?