Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ken_moore_gw

Invitation to a Front Load Washer Experiment

ken_moore
12 years ago

I am an appliance salesman, and a couple years back, a woman I had sold a large capacity FL washer came to me with a complaint. It doesn�t really matter what brand of washer she had purchased, but I was hoping I could get some of the readers of this forum to repeat the experiment she performed and report their results.

Like a lot of first-time FL owners, she was concerned that her laundry wasn�t being sufficiently "agitated." What she did was load her washer half way like normal, then took a pair of jeans, folded them neatly and placed it in what would be the "center" of the load, and then loaded her machine with loose laundry, not overfilling, but certainly making it a "full" load. She set her machine to "normal" and away it went.

At the end of the cycle, as she pulled the clothes out, she found the pair of jeans still right there in the middle, and still folded neatly, the same way it was when she put it in. She found this very disturbing.

"Well," I asked, "are your clothes coming our sufficiently clean?"

"Yeah, I guess." she replied.

I advised her that the proof was in the pudding and that although her experiment was interesting, the machine was performing as designed. I offered her a full refund if she really felt strongly about it, but suggested she keep using the machine and evaluate it further.

She never did return the product.

So� front load owners out there, would you care to try this experiment for me? I�m still selling appliances, and just the other day, I found myself relating that story while explaining a feature on one brand that uses "power foam" to penetrate that tricky "eye of the hurricane" in FLers, the center part of a full load that seemingly doesn�t get agitated that much. Or does it?

Are your jeans still folded when placed at the center of a load?

Comments (19)

• Cavimum
    12 years ago