Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sheesharee

Green laundry - CS - borax, washing soda, stains, help

Sheeisback_GW
12 years ago

I've finally realized doing laundry sometimes requires more than throwing your clothes in, adding soap, and walking away. : ( I've been using Charlie's Soap powder for at least three years now and am on 2nd bucket. We have well water and a water softener.

I've recently noticed our gym clothes especially are holding smells. They're fine until you start to sweat and then it's rather gross.

In the past, I'd have my white load but my colors and darks were thrown together and washed in cold water. Of course I have a towel load and some fun hand wash items.

I might not have been using enough soap for the large loads. I was only using the green scoop but perhaps I need more. Recently I've tried two scoops in addition to hot water but it's not helping with the smell.

So maybe better sorting, some hot water, and more soap are a start but I was thinking I needed something more so I bought some Borax and Washing Soda today at the store and now I'm not sure if I should use both with the Charlie's Soap?

I do use vinegar as fabric softener on occasion. I also hang clothes on the line at times but usually only whites. I did try hanging some of the funky smelling gym clothes out longer but so far I haven't beat the smell.

I'm also pretty terrible at getting stains out. In the past I wasn't looking for stains and the CS doesn't take them out. I've used the CS all purpose spray on blood and that came out fine but it doesn't seem to work on grease. I do have some Fels Naphtha soap and was reading that was good as a spot treatment. ?

My DH sweats and his dark brown hat the other day had lovely white sweat/salt marks all over it. It didn't come out in the wash and after reading online it appears I should've tried a toothbrush with vinegar.