Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seegaye

washer and dryer - something simple, attractive, not overpriced??

seegaye
13 years ago

It can be topload. It can be frontload. It CANT be complicated - I have a cell phone for that.

Just changed to propane so am wanting a propane or convertable to propane dryer. Just me and husband here and we are not 'into' whether our whites are whiter and brights are brighter. We care how we look, but are not obsessed.

One issue I do have... I am an artist. My house is being remodeled to include some nice, rich, earthy colors. I dont see a white set being part of that. My laundry room - unless I keep the door shut - is visible from the kitchen and dining area. White wont do. Could buy some Thompsons Stainless Paint and paint it, I suppose...

I am so uttery amazed that one cannot just buy a washer and dryer without having to take a short course on how to manage the thing. Is there anything out there that is simple, not overpriced, and attractive?

Comments (4)

• housefairy
    13 years ago

If "white won't do" then you are not going to find a basic unit or one that is fairly inexpensive. So...you are going to have to buy probably more than you need. Find the color (or colors) that you want then come back and ask any questions you have about the manufacturer/model.

• whirlpool_trainee
    13 years ago

I understand your concern mismatched colors - especially since you're an artist. However, my honest opinion would be to rather shut the laundry room door and have a good set of laundry appliances than a flashy set of junk.

Frigidaire has a new line of front loaders, which are, it seems, largely based on the expensive Electrolux IQ Touch washers. They retail from 950 to 1150 Dollars. Available in silver, red, blue... and white. Go to Frigidaire.com - the new models all have "Ready Steam".