Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aliris19

Planning a laundry room

aliris19
11 years ago

Hiyall,

I'm a veteran of the kitchen forum but pretty new here. At loooong last I've started to recover sufficently from the trauma of designing a kitchen to turn to the other needed design elements in our as-yet-un-finished-remodel.

Please forgive me if this is plain as day, but I am requesting pointers to some general points or posts about designing a laundry room the way such things are setup in kitchens, if they exist over here. Buehl's general pointers were invaluable bootstrappers in getting started on this process.

Are there any especially good threads or posts with thoughts about how to get started on designing for a laundry room?

What features are people using that work well?

I'll start taking a stab here at listing some with again, apologies if this is obviously out-there already:

� drip-zone; hanging bar or maybe mesh to go above sink for drippy wet stuff (bathing suits, &c; damp washed shirt to hang; sweater than might want to lay flat and would drip)? Any good design plans? Hooks? Mesh elfa baskets?

� Detergent - that presumably wants to go above the washer or maybe in a cupboard to the side?

� Folding shelf?

� Iron/ironing board? Anyone like those pull down ones? I love the cute space-economy of it but in practice I think they can be a pain, no, because space to the side and front must be kept immaculately clear.

� Sorting -- abc-something-or-other just posted nifty pictures with double shelves that hold plastic laundry buckets for sorting and storing. That looks terrific. Any ideas for this sort of thing in less space?

� Corners? Ideas for how to use them?

What other zones or usage do people incorporate in their laundry rooms? abc has kid-stuff-storage which I love (but happen not to have room for).

I guess a good question is: what zones do you have in your laundry room? What purposes does the room address?