Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
monkeymo_gw

washer/dryer pedestals - Love or Hate?

monkeymo
13 years ago

We have LG front loaders. We are moving our laundry from basement upstairs (yeah!). We are planning on getting the pedestals. My DH thinks I am not going to like them, but I think I will.

Anyone here have the pedestals on their fl machines and if so do you love them or hate them?

Comments (18)

• gardenspuds
    13 years ago

We moved into a house 2.5 years ago that came with Bosch FL washer and dryer. I didn't even know the machines were on pedestals until a couple of months ago!

I have no other experience except with top loaders, this is my first set of FL, but I honestly can say I cannot imagine these machines WITHOUT the pedestals! That would be way to far down for me to bend. I don't know how high other FL come, but ours WITH the pedestals come up to me about chest high- I'm just over 5'.

For me, love em.

Barbara

• lascatx
    13 years ago

The machines would be much too low for me without them and they could be higher (I'm taller). That said, I don't store detergent and such in the pedestals. Defeats the purpose to have to bend and get detergent, spot treatment, dryer sheets, etc. doesn't it? Those stayed in the cabinet above and the pedestal drawers have more occassionally needed items such as extra vacuum cleaner bags, cleaning rags, certain pet items, etc.

• hilltop_gw
    13 years ago

Up until a month ago I had a Maytag FL without a pedestal. I got along fine with it. Then purchased a new Maytag 3000 series with the pedestal and I love it! I can't imagine using the set without the pedestals - I'd really have to bend to get things. If you're considering a pedestal with a drawer, make sure your dryer vents out the back. Our dryer vents through the floor which will not work with a drawer.

Also, my new set is several inches deeper than the old. Not sure if that's true for all brands, but make sure you've got plenty of room.

• lascatx