Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
studio460_gw

studio460 laundry room project:

studio460
10 years ago

[Disclaimer: I am authoring this thread to document our laundry area renovation. I have no specialized knowledge in any of the home-building trades, and claim no particular expertise in any of the construction techniques shown here.]

Back to square-one. This weekend (June 2, 2013), I demo'd the cement board I put up last week to allow the plumber to lower the laundry outlet box so that it'll be fully concealed once we install our 36"-high countertop over our 24" LG washer/dryer combo unit [Edit: we've since changed to standard-sized Kenmore units instead--the planned counter is now approximately 40" high]. I noticed that the old trap is still in place--we'll replace that as well. While I've got the wall re-opened, we'll add another duplexed 120VAC outlet to the left:

This post was edited by studio460 on Mon, Jul 15, 13 at 6:49

Comments (34)

• studio460
    Original Author
    10 years ago

As I mentioned before, the laundry area is visible from the front entrance (the front door is about 5' behind camera):

• studio460
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The laundry area is also visible from the adjacent living room and kitchen. Here's the view from the kitchen:

This post was edited by studio460 on Mon, Jun 3, 13 at 3:00

• studio460
    Original Author
    10 years ago

[Edit: We've since returned the LG combo unit due to excessive drying times. The design is now completely changed due to the new, taller machines, and we'll now only have space for a single, 30" base cabinet, and the countertop will now be 40" high].

This post was edited by studio460 on Mon, Jul 15, 13 at 3:36

• studio460
    Original Author
    10 years ago