Return to the Laundry Room Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Venting a closet with a stacking washer/dryer - need help!

Posted by blondelle (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 1, 13 at 15:03

I found out the hard way what happens when there's no venting. A tenant put this in his apartment and he never told me there was mold growing. When he moved out I was horrified to see black mold all over the place! The closet is near the outside wall of the house. Is running a vent to the outside my only option? I don't want to buy ventless units.

How much should such a vent run, and what type of contractor would do this type of work? Thanks for any advice!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Venting a closet with a stacking washer/dryer - need help!

Ideally, an HVAC professional. I'm far from an expert, however, the task is often easy enough for anyone who's the least bit handy. A 5' length of 4" metal ducting costs $7 at Home Depot. You may need a couple of 90-degree turns, and an outside covered vent--all told, under $50 in materials (the most expensive part is the metal ducting tape that costs about $15/roll). You may also need a 4-1/8" hole-saw and a drill (or some other cutting tool) to cut a 4" hole into your siding.

If you need the cosmetics of an in-wall vent installation, that's a bit more challenging (needing an even "handier" guy/gal), and requires more specialized ducting, which is slightly more expensive, and not carried by Home Depot.

This post was edited by studio460 on Sun, Jun 2, 13 at 6:00

o
RE: Venting a closet with a stacking washer/dryer - need help!