Return to the Laundry Room Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My old Maytag won't drain

Posted by jimbo_f (My Page) on
Sat, May 1, 10 at 23:06

Well, I knew this day would come sooner or later. My 1992 vintage Maytag LAT8600AAL washer has a problem and won't drain. The drum still spins and appears to go through all the cycles but it stays full of water.

Any ideas what could be wrong? Is the pump belt driven in this machine? I still have to bail the water out of the machine so I can move it. I've never worked on a washer before. Is everything accessed through the bottom after laying the machine on its side?

I hope it is something cheap and simple as I hate the thought of having to replace this machine. It is 18 years old and this is the first problem it has ever had.

Thanks for any advise you could give.

Jimbo

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My old Maytag won't drain

This is a "classic" two-belt Maytag. The front panel comes off, look for two screws set at an angle in the lower crease. Remove the screws, swing the panel up then it releases from the top (two clips hold it up there). The pump is at the right front. The motor has a double pulley. One belt runs to the transmission drive at the center, the other goes across to the pump. Expect the pump belt to be fairly loose, that's normal, but check it for wear or perhaps if it's broken. Check the pump if it doesn't turn easily.

The motor is on a spring-loaded carriage, make sure it moves easily, the glide rollers aren't stuck/broken/worn. The drive belt serves as the spin clutch, it's a special fabric-covered belt that is designed to slip until spin gets up to speed. Replacement belts MUST be of the proper type. A belt without the covering will grab too much during spin, causing an overload on the motor.