Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roorezzi

Help me with Front Loading W/D selection

roorezzi
10 years ago

We had a 20 year old pair of GE Washer and Dryer. Then a relative said we have a stackable - do you want it. Turns out it was a 5-7 year old Stacked Combo unit. The thing barely dries and it is just small.
We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 4 yr old and 18 mo old.)

I am looking to see what is out there that is reasonably priced yet still large enough to grow with us. The kids clothes are only going to get bigger and bigger with more laundry to do.

I found a pr of Samsung Front Loaders on sale this week. I am new to looking at these and not sure about Samsung and not sure about the size.

Samsung 3.9 cu ft Washer. 11 cycles including Steam
WF393BTPAWR
Priced at $696

Samsung 7.4 cu ft dryer including Steam
DV393ETPAWR
Priced at $696

Here is the link on Home Depot. I am not sure how to make it clickable.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Samsung-3-9-cu-ft-High-Efficiency-Front-Loa d-Washer-with-Steam-in-White-ENERGY-STAR-WF393BTPAWR/203673116?N=c3ovZ a0f#specifications

If anyone can help me with these that would be appreciated. Or if anyone has any other suggestions.

Thanks

Comments (5)

• richard_f
    10 years ago

I don't own a Samsung, so I have first hand opinion, but you might want to read through the thread I've linked below.

While there are some valid criticisms of their approach, I've always found that Consumer Reports is a good starting place for appliance research.

Here is a link that might be useful: Don't Buy a Samsung Washer or Dryer

• roorezzi
    Original Author
    10 years ago

From what I can see on Consumer Reports. It got a score of 84 with the highest rating models getting a 90. It scored Excellent in washing performance, capacity, energy, water efficiency. Very Good in Gentleness and noise. Said Vibration was just good but we will have in basement on cement.. so not too much of a concern for me.