Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
try_hard

I'm abandoning Shaklee & Charlie's soaps

try_hard
14 years ago

I used Shaklee laundry detergent (powder) for nearly a year and then switched to Charlie's. I've been using their powder and their liquid versions for a few months. I'm not satisfied with the results from Shaklee or Charlie's. My whites are dull and dingy. My DH's lycra cycling bibs and my lycra running pants consistently come out of the washing machine with splotches of a white film on them. I guess I'm going to have to try a regular HE detergent like Tide and see if things improve.

I'm using a one year-old GE Harmony HE washer and dryer. I don't use bleach. I add liquid OxiClean to my white loads and also use it for a pre-soak cycle for my colored clothes from time to time.

I have read alot of posts here about how to get whites white and all that - I'm just feeling frustrated because I'm tired of experimenting with products that don't provide the results I hoped for. So I just needed to vent. Thanks for listening.

try_hard

Comments (9)

• bryansda
    14 years ago

Don't feel bad not every detergent works for everyone, that's why there are so many out there. Before you give up on CS, try giving Taylor a call for advice and if that still doesn't work for you, move on to something else. I know what you're going through because I had the same problem of nothing working for me UNTIL I tried the CS, but it doesn't work for everyone. I know it's a pain to keep trying different products and nothing works, but you water plays a big part in the puzzle too. Hang in there you'll find the right products that suit your needs.

• grainlady_ks
    14 years ago

Do you have extremely hard water? If so, the water hardness may affect the performance of your detergent choices. Normally, more detergent is required to wash laundry in hard water, or the addition of packaged water softener products to both the wash and rinse cycles will help.