Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
geokid_gw

To stack or not to stack?

geokid
12 years ago

Hello, newbie here. I usually hang out in the decoration forum. We are going to be rearranging our laundry room (9'6"L x 5'8"W) to make it more functional and to add a dog shower. We live on a dirt road in the country and from March to October (whenever the ground isn't frozen!) there's dirt and mud everywhere and my kids spend a lot of time at the beach so there is sand everywhere too. A place to wash off dirty kids, boots, puppies, etc would be wonderful! Our laundry room is right when you come in the garage door.

Here is a picture and a diagram of the current set-up (ignore my husband's mess on the back counter - we are putting a slop sink in his shop and ALL of that stuff will go in the shop). The W/D are right when you come in and if anyone is doing laundry they block entrance to the room.

{{!gwi}}

Current plan:

{{!gwi}}

Example of pet shower:

{{!gwi}}

We will be moving the W/D to the back wall and the sink and pet shower will be right away on the right when you come in the room. The question is, how do I arrange the W/D? Below are two arrangements.

One is the W/D side-by-side with a counter across the whole top. I fold laundry right out of the machine so I would like a counter to fold. The machines won't be on pedestals.

The second is the W/D with the stacking kit. The counter would be to the right with space underneath for hampers (as there is now).

Should I stack or should I not? Pros? Cons?

W/D Side-by-side

{{!gwi}}

W/D Stacked

{{!gwi}}

Comments (6)

• wildchild
    12 years ago

You will have to stack them with the dog shower/sink on that wall. You show only 22" of space in front of the dryer in the first plan. Don't know about yours but my front load doors are 22" wide and I imagine some may be even larger.