Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
potterylady_gw

Investigating inside Miele W1903

potterylady
12 years ago

Looking for what is normal when checking out the inside of my washing machine. I am doing this because my drum will not spin when on or off.Also, noticed that once I removed the detergent tray, the top of plastic frame that holds the tray has dark brown/black flakey stuff on it. Is that normal or a sign of something burnt? The drawer itself is clean, but the previous owner probably cleaned it. I took off the front panel, I can see a VERY light dusting of black dust, perhaps carbon???Normal? Took off the top panel, everything looks fine, I guess. I have never done this before and this is my first Miele washer.Liriodendron, do you have any ideas?

Comments (11)

• livebetter
    12 years ago

brown/black in detergent drawer could be mould. If the previous owner didn't leave the drawer open (or remove it) after washing, mould could form on the frame around the drawer. I've seen that before.

You just need a little bleach in water and a brush to scrub that off.

Still can't help you with the drum issue - sorry.

• potterylady
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks livebetter, that's one less thing I have to worry about. As for the drum, I'm thinking of having Miele service come on Tuesday. Then I'll know if it's repairable or to start looking for another used machine. At least I'll already have one for spare parts. Am I correct to assume that all new parts are only available from Miele?
    I have read about testing the drum for wobble, how much does your drum move if you grab it and try to move it? Not at all or maybe an inch or so?

• livebetter
    12 years ago

I would get Miele in. Get it fixed right and start using it. I'm still of the mind set that your problem is an easy fix (but what do I really know ... lol). I would have wanted the struts in for moving it to be safe.