Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenspuds

Which HE top loader, specific questions?

gardenspuds
13 years ago

I have a 5-6 yr. old Bocsh Nexxt HE washer, in the house when we moved here, and I've never been thrilled with the machine.

I have posted here before, and you all have helped me figure out what cycles to use. I'm still not thrilled with my washer, but I like it better then when I wasn't using all the available cycles and options on the machine.

Which HE top loader do you all like? I have some specific needs because I'm a fiber artist. I haven't been able to use the front loader HE Bosch for any of my fiber projects, and I sorely miss my old top loader. None of the front loader HE machines will work because of the way they spin out items- only a top loader will work.

I'd like a machine with a rinse only cycle, has an onboard heater, and that can do a spin only cycle. I'd like to be able to spin wool items made with handspun yarn. I sadly learned that the spin cycle on my front loader creates too much agitation for handspun items. My old regular top loader did a beautiful job, I'm hoping one of the top loader HE models will work too.

Can the top loader HE machines be filled with water then have items added for a soak without agitation? Again, thinking wool, so I'd like to be able to add some water to the drum (doesn't need to be full, just enough to cover a few sweaters or shawls), add the wool items, let them soak with the machine off, then spin the water out.

One last question. I've had a problem with lingering odors in clothing in my Bosch HE machine. If I try washing clothing that has perfume or cologne on it, it seems to linger in the article of clothing for up to 3 or 4 washes. Same thing with other things, like suntan lotion.