Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
macavity_gw

Best washer/dryer for 2nd floor install?

macavity
14 years ago

Am getting new front load washer and dryer to use (side by side, not stacked) upstairs on a wood floor. Because of the location am very concerned about vibration and noise. Would really appreciate any thoughts/suggestions regarding brands, models, etc. Thanks a million.

Comments (9)

• monaw
    14 years ago

Maybe this will help you: http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/laundry/msg010912587741.html

I posted that a few weeks ago and we now have our new front loader set installed. We followed the suggestion only used 3/4 inch plywood just under washer. (our washer/dryer is not side by side)
    We also put the mat under dryer.
    It worked great...so quiet.

Now no one knows that there is laundry being done, except for a very slight hum of dryer and an occasional tiny vibration when an off-balance load spins. I'm still learning how to load it for perfect balance.....:)
    If the load is perfectly balanced, we never hear or feel anything at all with the washer, other than a slight pump noise as it fills and drains, which barely lasts anytime at all. Nothing compared to the constant humming of a top loader washer. The dryer in the old set displayed an irritating hum as well, so I decided to throw some mat under the new dryer since I had so much left from purchasing a 4 by 6 stall mat. The mat is extremely heavy.
    It is certainly worth $50 to insure the washer will not walk, not to mention the insulation from noise.

• macavity
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Monaw, thank you so much! What a great idea and really not hard to do. Will check out stall mats tomorrow.

• monaw
    14 years ago

macavity, you're welcome!