Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerrod6

Liquid Fabric Softeners gunking machines?

jerrod6
16 years ago

I have read posts on this forum referring the use of liquid fabric softeners and how they can gunk up washers. I am wondering if this is universal to fabric softeners or is only occurring with FS that are sold in the U.S.A. or perhaps this is not true of all brands.

Does anyone who lives outside of the U.S.A. or anyone who uses a fabric softener made for other countries experience crud from their softeners? What brands are responsible? Anyone have information about this?

Comments (45)

• asolo
    16 years ago

FWIW...I've been using plain old Downy in my Duet9400 since it was new three years ago. (Downy is one of those that people complain about.) All different temps. All different cycles. All different load sizes. I have never had gunk build-up anywhere. I don't know why other people do. I just read the manual and did what it said.

• iasheff
    16 years ago

The problem is the gunk isn't where you can see it, unless you tear into your machine. We had gunk in our drain pump when we had to replace it and I would have sworn that we didn't have a drop of buildup anywhere before that. At least I caught ours early enough -- before there were any problems. I attribute mine to liquid laundry detergent as much as to liquid fabric softener!

Out of curiousity, my hubby checked ours again a little bit ago and there wasn't a bit of gunk any more!

• asolo
    16 years ago

Well, must confess I haven't torn it apart. However, have examined rather closely down into the outer drum where the heater and drain are and all around in there. Shiney and clean everywhere. No residue of any kind.

Also confess those holes in the inner drum are pretty small but with a good intense flashlight, there's nothing that can't be seen on the outer one.

• kc567567
    16 years ago