Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
enduring

Miele dryer "Filter/Vent" fault, frequently triggered

enduring
10 years ago

My new Miele set that I have been using for about 5 loads/week is working great. I've been using them for about 2-3 months. One issue I have had is that the dryer filter red light comes on sometimes during a load. The lint screen may not even have lint on it when this happens. I clean the lint screen after every load.

The vent is corrugated for about 2' then connects to metal rigid 4" duct, down to the basement and out the side of the house. There is one 90 degree bend, and total rigid duct is about 11'.

The external vent cover is a swinging flapper made of metal that I got online. I often watch out the window to be sure it is opening. Could this be the resistance that is causing this error? I will post a link to their site below.

I wouldn't think that I need to give the vent a cleaning already after only 2 months of use. The light started coming on from time to time, almost from the get-go.

Is there an issue or is this a common thing to happen? I can clean the venting but already???

Here is a link that might be useful: Dryer vent link

Comments (24)

• Cavimum
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Was the vent thoroughly cleaned before you installed the dryer? If so, or is a completely new vent, perhaps that outside damper/door is not opening sufficiently. IMHO they never really work well and become stuck in open position from lint, with previous dryers. The door was gone when we bought current house and I never get the message on our Miele.

Only other thing I can think of is to ask if you use dryer sheets instead of fabric softener? The lint screen mesh on our MIele dryer is very fine, and that the stuff on those dryer sheets can gunk up that screening very easily. Owners manual says to not use those dryer sheets (Bounce et al) but not everyone has time to read that booklet.

• whirlpool_trainee
    10 years ago