Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lady_west

Looking for a washer that actually gets HOT!

Lady_West
10 years ago

I am leaving behind a four year old LG HE top loader when I move this spring. If it weren't for the fact that the washer only gets lukewarm at best, despite being set to HOT, I would be happy with them. The model I have doesn't have a sanitize option, but my water heater is set very high and still I can only get lukewarm water. I'm not sure if I want to try again with LG, I don't trust that a sanitize cycle would get hot enough.

If I want a truly hot wash am I looking at expensive euro washers? I'm on a budget and would prefer to not pay big bucks for a Miele. I'm also not crazy about front loaders, but if that's what I gave to go with to get a hot wash then I'm willing. I don't mind small capacity as I do small loads anyway, but I do need to wash queen size bedding.

Comments (13)

• dadoes
    10 years ago

I have no direct experience with euro-brands, or LG or Samsung ... but Whirlpool & Maytag frontloaders that have a Sanitary cycle get accordingly hot.

• Lady_West
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Do whirlpool amd maytag have internal heaters?

I'd like to be able to do most loads in a warm wash, maybe somewhere around 100 degrees. When I do whites I'd like a really hot wash. My current LG top loader get up to 87 degrees at its hottest setting. I need something hotter than that.

I'm considering an Electrolux wave touch set, but I'm torn. If I spend $2,400 on the Electrolux set it better be damn good otherwise I could spend, what, another $1,000 and get a Miele set. Or would a Miele set be even more than that?

• dadoes
    10 years ago