Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jannie_gw

Have You Knit With Three Strands of Yarn?

jannie
13 years ago

I bought a book called "Ten Hour Knitted Afghans". I'd like to make two or three knitted afghans for Christmas gifts. All the afghans in this book are knitted with three skeins of yarn held together. The needles are either sixe 17 or 25 0r 50. I need some tips. Anybody ever knit this way? I'm a novice at this type of knitting. Do you use the yarn as is or do you wind into balls? How do you work with three strings of yarn at once? Any special techniques? How do you hold your hands? Any advice will be greatly appreciated. I'd consider myself an average-intermediately skilled knitter. I have made many sweaters, a prior knitted afghan of all different stitch squares, lots of scarves, even a knitted Christmas stocking for my dog. I'm willing to take on something new. Thanks in advance, anyone who sees this!

Comments (7)

• gabriell_gw
    13 years ago

I have not knit with three strands and have not used needles of that size.Must be like knitting with a broomstick.

• saraemmasmom
    13 years ago

I have knitted with two strands but never on such large needles. I have to say that I found it to be distracting/difficult and probably won't rush to do it again.
    I knit continental style and found the yarn would twist together and be hard to control. I did wind the yarn into balls first and they had a tendency to roll around.
    One tip that I found, but didn't try, was to put each yarn ball into a coffee can with a lid. Cut a hole in the lid and thread yarn through then begin to knit. I guess this would prevent the yarn rolling and cut down on the tangling.

Let us know how you make out!

• jannie
    Original Author
    13 years ago

That's what I was afraid of. I'm thinking of going to my local knitting store and asking the owner for some help. She's very skilled and helpful. She might be a little miffed because I bought the yarn at Michaels.

• sheilajoyce_gw