Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dindrane

too tight

dindrane
16 years ago

Does anyone have any tips for how to keep my cast-ons and subsequent stitches from being way too tight? I'm a newbie knitter, and my stitches are quite literally so tight after even a short row, that I can't even slide them off the needles. I've tried doing the cast-on using two needles, but even so, they quickly tighten up after the first row.

Is this just a learning experience thing that I'll have to just practice myself over and over, while concentrating on not being so very tight?

Comments (8)

• donna_loomis
    16 years ago

Dindrane, there are several things you can try to keep your cast-on stitches a bit looser. I don't know which cast-on you are using, but I would suggest not using the longtail cast-on. You might try using the "knitted on" cast-on, or another one shown here: http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/cast-on

You might also use a needle one or two sizes larger just for casting on and then use the needle size called for in the pattern to finish knitting with. Make sure to switch to the smaller needle after your first row so you don't end up using two different size needles (sometimes desirable, but that's another episode, LOL).

As for your knitting being too tight, that is just going to take practice. The one thing I can think of that might make a difference is in the way you hold your yarn. Be careful not to crimp your little finger too tightly if your yarn is wrapped around that finger. Maybe try a different hold: http://www.worldknit.com/howto/howtoknit/beginningtechniques/holdingyarn.html

Just knit. And keep knitting. It will eventually loosen up.

Good luck!

• grandmaknits47
    16 years ago

When I first started to knit, I had the same problem, but now it is just the opposite. I have to go down at least one size in my needles to hit gauge. It really does just come with practice. Donna's hints are really good. Just keep trying.

Fran

• sheilajoyce_gw