Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
questrist

quick stitch question; chart question

Carol_Ann
16 years ago

I'm making the Backyard Leaves Scarf from Pam Allen's "Scarf Style" (pp. 79-82 if you have the book).

There are frequent slip stitches along the edge. When it calls for a sl st should I assume it's knitwise unless the pattern says otherwise (which this one doesn't)? (The precise stitch on the chart is actually "sl 1 wyib on RS; sl 1 wyif on WS" and also there's a "sl 1 wyif on RS"). I undertand the "wyif" and "wyib" part; I just want to make sure that it makes sense that I'm always slipping the st knitwise, since the pattern doesn't say.

Also, is it standard for row 1 to always be the right-side row when reading a chart? This is my first time using a chart and it called for a set-up row, then row 1... took me some time looking at the chart to make sure row 1 was the RS row. It is, but it got me wondering about charts in general.

Thanks!!

Comments (9)

• donna_loomis
    16 years ago

I have the book. I have not made the Backyard Leaves Scarf, but in looking at it, I see that besides the slip stitches you mention, that there are three other types of slip stitches (ssk, sssk, and ssp). And it does specifically say that these are to be slipped knitwise. But in looking at the pattern, I think that I would slip the stitches with the yarn in back knitwise because the next stitch will be a knit stitch, and slip the stitches with the yarn in front purlwise because the next stitch will be a purl stitch. Just my opinion. But I think how it looks will be your deciding factor.

I do think that row 1 is generally thought of as a right side row.

• Carol_Ann
    Original Author
    16 years ago