Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eliza_ann_ca

Childs earflap hat pattern?

Eliza_ann_ca
18 years ago

I've been seeing a lot of those scandinavian hats with the ear flaps(sometimes made into braids) in the stores.

They are usually done in a fair isle pattern or stripes.I haven't been able to find one with a free pattern on line.I would love to knit these for the grandkids.

Does anyone have a pattern or know of a source where I can find one.

Thanks...Eliza Ann

Comments (7)

• renata_ia
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Here you go:

Here is a link that might be useful: Ear Flap Hat

• Eliza_ann_ca
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks so much.I'm going to give it a try,and will let you know how it turns out.

Eliza Ann

• jane_2007
    17 years ago

I love this type of hat, but I am a true beginner. Has anyone seen a simplier pattern for this type of hat? I am looking to make it for a child 5/6 years old. Thank you very much...any information is greatly appreciated.

• ironkit
    17 years ago

You could follow it and leave out the fair isle.

~ Kit

• alibeee
    17 years ago

Try the one linked to below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Easy kids' earflap hat pattern

• jane_2007
    17 years ago

Thanks for the input. This hat would be more for a boy than a girl....any other suggestions/patterns out there? Again, my thanks!

• dances_in_garden
    17 years ago

Jane, if you find a hat pattern you like for a boy, it is easy to convert to an earflap hat.

Knit two triangles just big enough to cover a little boy's ear:

CO 1 stitch

Row 1 - knit in front and back of stitch (2 sts)
    Row 2 - knit in front and back of both stitches (4 sts)
    Row 3 - knit in front and back of first stitch, K2, knit in front and back of last stitch (6 stitches)