Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deedeebaker_gw

Scarves for the Troops

deedeebaker
16 years ago

Has anyone ever crocheted scarves for the troops? I'm new at doing scarves and all the instructions say are the dimensions approx. 12x42 and no fringe or scallops, just plain. They ask that you use only tan, brown, gray, black or olive drab or combinations thereof. And they suggest soft, 100 percent wool, alpaca or cashmere yarns or blends of these yarns, worsted or bulky weight. I would really like to do this but am not sure what kind of stitch or pattern to do or what size needle. I'm not new at crocheting because I've done alot of blankets but I'm not to sure about scarves. I appreciate your help.

Comments (16)

• threejsmom
    16 years ago

I don't crochet so can't suggest a stitch or pattern but below is a link to lots of crochet patterns.

Here is a link that might be useful: Crochet patterns

• wantoretire_did
    16 years ago

deedee - Good for you for doing this. BUT, I sure wouldn't use the yarn you said is recommended-I would think it would be very impractical, but its not my call.

In the link below, Red Heart and Patons acrylic is used. Acrylic is machine washable and dryable and as you can see from the picture, there are lots of possibilities for variety. I use the Red Heart acrylic yarns for most of my donations as they must take a laundry beating. Most of my scarves are double crochet with H, I or J hook. I'm a pretty tight crocheter.

Have fun - they go quickly :-)

Here is a link that might be useful: Scarves for soldiers

• Carol_Ann
    16 years ago