Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sennhi

Never knit/crochet before. Need idea for a man scarf.

sennhi
17 years ago

Hi all,

I am in need of some ideas. I plan on knitting/crochetting a scarf for my boyfriend. I figure it will be a long-term project, so I wanted to start early.

He does not own any scarf since he's from the West Coast. So I really don't know what he likes, in terms of the pattern and sophistication of the scarf. Urm... I hope I make sense here.

HELP!!

P.S. I plan to have this done by Christmas. If you're wondering why do I start so early, I am a full-time student and this semester is kind of hectic.

Thanks all!!

Comments (7)

• socks
    17 years ago

That's a great idea, and you are not starting too early. You'll have time to enjoy the project.

Do you already know how to knit or crochet? If not, it would be a good idea to have someone help you, or check out the lessons at a yarn shop, or some Michaels have lessons.

Lion Brand has lots of free patterns (you have to register, tho'). I noticed the Harry Potter scarf there in the crochet section (maybe knit too). You could do that scarf in the colors of his favorite team or school.

As for the yarn you choose, acrylics are the easiest as far as washing and drying. Wool and wool blends are nice (Lion's Wool Ease is a good looking yarn) but some people are sensitive to the itchiness of wool.

Another yarn I like for mens' scarves is Bernat Denim Style yarn. Michaels might have it. It is acrylic and cotton and has a marled pattern (not just a solid color). It knits up soft and and drapes well, not stiff at all. There are some good colors for men too. Last time I bought it I used the mans' scarf pattern which was right on the wrapper. I think it was quite simple, just knit every row.

Also, remember if you knit in a stockinette stitch (knit one row, purl one row), your scarf will curl up on the edges. I like mine to lay pretty flat and avoid a scarf done completely in stockinette. That's just me.