Return to the Knitting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
HELP!! I just can't do it.

Posted by gracie01 (My Page) on
Sun, Sep 28, 08 at 10:30

I have a shawl pattern with homespun yarn & a size J crochet hook. I need to chain 139 first. I've twice ripped out my work because the chains "disappear" to my eye. Should I try a larger hook? I'm trying to chain loosely, but I still can't seem to "find" the stitches.

p.s. this is my first attempt with homespun yarn.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: HELP!! I just can't do it.

I can understatand this, and I'm sure others here will be more helpful than I--but are you saying you are having trouble getting the chain done, or is it difficult to work the second row into those chains?

I don't think a larger hook would help.

o

It is the yarn.

o

Well it is the yarn, but how can Gracie get through this difficult start? I was wondering if you could make your starting chain with the homespun and a second thinner yarn of contrasting color and then clip it out later. Just a thought--I've never tried it.

o

While you could do as socks suggested, I expect you will have the same trouble all through your piece. Crocheting with homespun is a chore. At least in knitting, you can see all your stitches on the needle. You might try crocheting the entire piece with another yarn or thread held together with the homespun.

o

Thanks all, you know I think I'll try some scrap yarn with the homespun. I made the chain last night, then when making the first row of stitches I had some chain left over, but my stitch count was correct, so obviously I was putting more than one stitch in each chain. Wish me luck, or else the yarn is going back to the store.

o

Keep us posted on how it goes. I think it's a very forgiving yarn as far as small errors go. Good luck.

o