Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
summer_fashion

Keep Forgetting Whether To Purl Or Knit The Row

summer_fashion
14 years ago

I'm new at knitting and just learned how to Purl. The problem is I'll knit a row then set the knitting aside for a few hours or a day and when I come back to it, I can't remember whether I should knit the next row or purl. Also, when I first start, after I cast on, when I finish the first row of knitting I have this long dangly length of yarn. I just continue knitting but this long dangly yarn at the end of the first row needs to be dealt with. After I fininsh the scarf, should I clip off this dangly length and weave it in with a crochet hook? Thank you. Margaret

Comments (6)

• sandra_ferguson
    14 years ago

I'm going to assume that you are knitting on 2 straight needles, and that you are knitting stockinette.....this is done by knitting on one side, and purling on the other, which together create stockinette. For stockinette stitch, you ALWAYS knit on the right side, and purl on the wrong. Thus, when you pick up your knitting and get ready for the next row, if the right side is facing you, you knit....if the wrong side is facing you, you pearl.
    There should be a piece of yarn left, when you finish your cast on.....when you finish your project, you can either weave it in with a croched hook, or thread it on a blunt tipped plastic needle with a very large eye (made for yarn), and use this to weave it in place. It's okay to cut some of it off, in the beginning, if it's extremely long, but don't cut it off short....you need plenty to work through, to keep it in place. If you're making a scarf you might want to add fringe to the ends and if so, you can incorporate that left over piece into the fringe.