Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laura_in_cinti

What's the best way to join two colors in a scarf?

laura_in_cinti
16 years ago

Hi,

I'm a beginner knitter and I'm working on a two color scarf. It has 12 row stripes of two colors (navy and creme acrylic). I'm having trouble getting my rows to look straight where I've switched to the second color.

I've checked KnittingHelp.com and looked at those techniques and tried those that seemed applicable with no success. I always end up with a chunk of the main color where I would expect to see the second color, or vice versa.

What would be the best way to make the switch to the second color? Should I carry the yarn up?

Thanks so much for your help!

Comments (15)

• profsusan
    16 years ago

I don't really knit (at least not well; I crochet) but I think the technique would be similar - to change colors, always work the last two loops on your hook off with the new color. I also leave about a 2" tail of the old color, hold in the back and then weave these ends in as I work so I don't have to go back when I'm finished to weave in loose ends

Hope this helps

• jenn
    16 years ago

I don't believe it..... I just stopped in to ask "What's your favorite method of joining a new color?" :-)

I'm teaching myself to knit. I've learned from KnittingHelp.com as well as other sites. I'm making either a dishcloth or a scarf using 100% mercerized cotton in stockinette stitch using two colors (cream and red). The purpose of this particular project is just to learn how to join a new color, so the final product will depend on how quickly I get bored with this once I learn it. :)

Here's what I am doing based on what I have read so far: