Return to the Knitting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help What is a knitters blind stitch?

Posted by redpenny (My Page) on
Tue, Sep 11, 07 at 0:56

Hi I am new to knitting and I bought a knitting machine I just finished my first hat

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I want to make a scraf to match and it call for a blind stitch to finish on the scraf pattern after it is machine knitted could some one tell me what this is or have a link that I could see the techinque for the blind stitch.
Thanks,
Red

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help What is a knitters blind stitch?

First, I want to say congratulations on your new knitting machine and the nice hat you've made. As for the blind stitch, there are several stitches that are referred to as blind stitches. Basically, it is just a way of sewing two pieces of fabric together (such as a hem) so that no stitch is seen from either side, except for the tiny thread where you catch the fabric. Google "blind stitch" and you should come up with lots of help.

o

I did goggle blind stitch but all I get is for sewing fabric by sewing machine that is why I posted here in knitting.

o

Cute hat!

Is this a hem you sew up (as opposed to just binding off)? If so, there are plenty of instructions -- there's one in link below for a hand-sewn blind stitch. If it's a special knitting stitch, I've never heard of it, but I'm not the world's most experienced knitter, either, and I don't know anything about knitting machines. The sewn stitch is a good one for stretchy fabrics so that might be what they mean. If not, maybe the website of the pattern maker will have more information? Good luck, and happy knitting!

Here is a link that might be useful: blind stitch (scroll to bottom)

o

The site that Carol Ann posted is one of the ones I found last night as well, and is the type of stitch I was referring to.

o

.Thank You I know it is done something like the Mattress
stitch.
Red

o