Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amino_x

'Creeping-In' Mastering the Turn Row - Help!

Amino_X
18 years ago

I'm Crocheting a bedspread for my neice but today I noticed that over about half the project I had lost 6 inches on BOTH sides due to "Creeping" on the turns! WAAAAHHHH!!!!

I can't pull out half the project and re-do it, there really isn't that much time left so I just sc'd out 6 inches on each side to even it up with the original base-chain and will just fix it before I border it.

I've learned how to keep this from happening using just a sc pattern for all rows, but this is my first time using this pattern and not I'm sure how to keep it from happing again.

Tha pattern I'm using is a simple shell pattern repeated ad-nasuem. :: (sc, hdc, dc) skip 2 st :: Repeat

When ending a row I've been using an hdc stitch for the last two stitches and adding a sc stitch before turning (this is how I prevent creep with a sc row, perhaps I should be adding 2sc before turning?)

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Thank You

Amino-X

Comments (13)

• socks
    18 years ago

There are many people here who know a lot more about crochet than I.

However, I wonder if you are reducing the number of stitches each row you make. Are you doing a chain or two chains at the end of each row so you can work into the last stitch in the previous row? (Your directions should tell you to do this.) That way you will always have the number of stitches you started with and end up with a rectangle. This could be what is going wrong if the "creeping" started from the very beginning of your project.

If you are not pleased with the end product, consider taking out the work to the point where the trouble started (the beginning?). Work up as many rows as you can and present it to your dear niece (maybe along with a bouquet or little stuffed animal) as a work in progress and she will get it as soon as you can finish. Then crochet like crazy!

• sheilajoyce_gw
    18 years ago