Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msbee_gw

Needs Sock help

msbee
15 years ago

What's the best way to get started? Pattern? Needles?

I can do all the basics.

I know it's time for me to take off the training wheels and take the plunge.

My Michaels has the Lion and Red Heart sock yarn.

Please point me in the right direction

thank You!

Comments (8)

• donna_loomis
    15 years ago

Remember, this is just my opinion. Others will surely have different opinions. Although I have been knitting for 40 years, I did not even attempt socks until a few years ago. I don't why, but I was just so intimidated by the mere thought. I started out by using a pattern that was a sock pattern, but using worsted weight, so they were more like a slipper or bed sock. That way they got done faster and I got to try all the techniques used in sock making. And guess what I found out? They aren't as hard as I thought they would be! I'm sure you can find a pattern online for this type of sock, but if you like, I will share the one I used if you send me an email with sock pattern in the subject line. I'll be home sometime this evening and will get it to you then. Good luck. You CAN do it.

• tami_ohio
    15 years ago

Socks are EASY! My first project was a dish cloth, the second a baby sock, the third an adult pair! If you don't mind working on small things, baby socks will quickly give you all the parts of knitting socks in a short period of time. I haven't tried working socks in worsted weight, tho my basic sock pattern gives me three weights to work with.

As to needles, I use size 2, my pattern calls for size 3. It will depend on YOUR gauge. This is for sock weight yarn.

For yarn, I have not tried the Red Heart or Lion brand sock yarns, so I can't comment on that. It should be fine. There might be a basic sock pattern on the label.

You can always ask here if you have any questions.

Join the sock fun!

Tami

• liza070831
    15 years ago