Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
itsmesuzq

Crocheting dish rags.....help please.

itsmesuzq
18 years ago

I am new at crocheting (and I love it!) and I want to crochet some dish rags but I don't know what kind of cotton thread to buy. I want the dish rags to be the heavier kind so I'm thinking they have to be a certain weight cotton, is that right? After looking at the cotton threads on Joann's web site I'm nut sure which one to buy.

Can someone give some advice on which one is the best for this use?

Thanks so much. Oh, can I also just make them with a standard double crochet stitch, or is there a better stitch to use, since they will be used to wash dishes?

~Susan

Comments (10)

• sheilajoyce_gw
    18 years ago

I use the Lion Brand Kitchen Cotton. It is a worsted weight size. I think you are looking at the thin cotton thread used for lace tablecloths and doilies. Look at lionbrand.com and see their Kitchen Cotton. It comes in many colors.

You can make the discloths any way you want. There are even entire books of dishcloth patterns with some pretty, and quite fancy, colorful designs.

• donna_loomis
    18 years ago

Sheilajoyce is right. There are several brands. I also like Sugar 'n Cream.

• Terrapots
    18 years ago

Crocheting dishrags got me back into knitting. I admired some my daughter received and liked the way it cleaned. There's lots of patterns on the internet. I found I did like the knitted ones better than the crochet but crochet did go faster. Be careful with bright colors as I found that they tend to "bleed" when wet which is not good for dishrags. Have fun. I graduated to knitting sweaters but I will go back to crocheting. So many beautiful projects ahead --- sigh, sigh, sigh for enough time.

• Wendy_the_Pooh
    18 years ago