Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
billy1919

help with directions

billy1919
9 years ago

I have a Bolero Vest in which I am would like to make but I am haveing trouble with the directions I have posted the picture. The vest directions I just can't get. I am new at knitting so any help would be helpful.

Comments (13)

• billy1919
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I have uploaded another pic in which I couldn't upload the other pic in the same thread

• colleenoz
    9 years ago

What is it that you don't get?

• billy1919
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Well it says work in seed stitch for 4 rows etc. I couldn't get that to go along with the first row. I tried to go back to the instructions that was in the book but still couldn't understand the directions. You see this a knit book for beginners it was fine until now.

• User
    9 years ago

To work seed stitch for four rows in this pattern, you will start with an ODD number of stitches cast on.

Row 1: K, P, K, P, K . . . just keep alternating K, P until you get to the last stitch, which will be a K stitch.

Row 2: Do exactly the same thing as row 1 - K, P, K, P, etc, ending with a K stitch

Row 3: Same thing again,

Row 4: This one is a little bit trickier since you need to increase six stitches evenly placed. For this row, if you are making the smallest size, I would do this: [K, P, K, P, K, P, K, P, K, K again in the same stitch (this is your 1st increase), P, K, P, K, P, K, P, K, P, P again in the same stitch (this is your 2nd increase)] . . . . repeat that sequence three times until you get to the end of the row, which will be a K stitch. This will give you six increase evenly spaced.

• billy1919
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Alice I will try this. But what about the ts stitch (over 10) 6 times and sl 1 pwise k1(k1,p1, k1) for the SS border. It sounds you like over this part of the instruction.

• User
    9 years ago