Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sally_grower

Please help newbie making afgan

sally_grower
14 years ago

Hi, I just found this forum and I wish I had found it 2 weeks ago. I'm making an afgan for my son and it's my first. Nothing fancy, just all double crochet with variegated yarn. I don't have a pattern and I just taught myself how to crochet, so I'm really a newbie....That said, I chained 220 chains and now that I have 10 skeins of yarn crocheted, I'm wondering if I've made it too big.

Is there a standard size or amount of stitches for an afgan. Sorry if this is a dumb question. Thanks for the help. Sally

Comments (5)

• justlinda
    14 years ago

Hi Sally

Continue to crochet a couple of rows, and see what your tension is....like how many double crochet stitches make an inch, and how high the rows are. That will give you a good idea of how big your afghan will be.

The first row (or foundation row) should be crocheted loosely, and have a bit of "stretch" in it.

I just looked at one pattern, and they said it measures approx. 46" x 58", and they started with 132 chains.

Hope this helps.

p.s. Welcome to the forum.

• tami_ohio
    14 years ago

Hi Sally, Welcome to the forum.

When I crochet and afghan, I make it as big or small as I want. If it makes you and your son happy, that's what matters. Measure it, lay it on the bed or floor and see if you want it bigger. If not, finish off the end and use it! If you want it bigger, keep going. The only time I made one a specific size was when following a definite pattern. When I made the ripple, I used the pattern only to know how many to chain and the ripple design, not overall length. Granny square, I hate piecing things together, so I just kept making on big granny square and when it was as big as I wanted it, I quit.

Enjoy your new craft!

Tami

• sally_grower
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the advice, I'll give it a shot and see how it goes. Thanks again, Sally

• ofionnachta
    14 years ago