Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
billy1919

k2 sl1 k3 need help!

billy1919
10 years ago

I am new to knitting and need help. I am working on a tote that works with 5 skeins. And the instructions says to knit 2 strands at one time. I am ok with that however the third row said to k2 sl1 k3 well I am working with 2 strands and have 42 sts on #13 needle. Well i did the 3 row and ready for the 4 however it says to do the previous sl sts then do purl the rest. I have 7 sl sts. on the needle. Do I slip the first 7 sts that I have done then start purling. I need help.

Comments (8)

• User
    10 years ago

As you go along in row 4, purl each stitch until you get to a slipped stitch, don't purl that one - slip it, then continue to purl to the next slipped stitch. So, you P3, sl 1, P2, repeat to the end.

• billy1919
    Original Author
    10 years ago

thanks alot this comment you gave opens a different angle than I was thinking.

• rosajoe_gw
    10 years ago

Billy, I'm new too, and although I really enjoy knitting, I am finding that each person writes patterns differently. I am so thankful for the experienced knitters that help!

• Lindsey_CA
    9 years ago

Some comments on the instructions for row 3 of the pattern...

Right above the row 1 instructions it says (multiple of 4 + 2 sts). This means that there are two stitches used for the selvage (edge), and the pattern itself is worked over 4 stitches. So, if you want the finished item to be wider, you cast on more multiples of 4 than you would if you want a smaller finished item. This is cool, because if you're using a different yarn (either heavier or lighter than the pattern calls for) or if your gauge is tighter or looser than the pattern recommends, you can easily adjust the size of the item with the number of multiples you cast on.