Return to the Knitting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Crocheting Socks

Posted by flynflower (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 5, 09 at 19:00

All the posts about knitting socks had me wanting to learn to knit socks. I love to knit, but I'm still a beginner at knitting and I am self taught. I still want to learn to knit socks, but I'm going through a medical crisis right now and don't have a lot of brain energy. lolol. So I though hey why not crochet them. I've been crocheting for over 30 years. So I found a book at AC Moore on Crocheted Socks by Janet Rehfeldt and Mary Jane Wood. It is GREAT! The socks are so cute and look knitted! I could not believe how finely crocheted they are and the stitches are so small , I love it! And the best part is , I ALREADY KNOW THE STITCHES! LOLOLOL
I'm using a new (to me anyway) yarn called Patons stretch socks. It is superfine lightweight blend of cotton, wool nylon and elastic. 50grams a skein . I'm using the multi green and it is so pretty! Anyway, I am crocheting socks and I love it!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Crocheting Socks

My feet are always cold, but I bet these crocheted socks would fit the bill. They are ankle socks.

These look easy enough for people, like me, who are knitting-challenged. And the pattern is FREE.

:)

Here is a link that might be useful: Crocheted Ankle Socks ~ Free Pattern

o

Yeah for you!! Let us know how they turn out!

How are you liking the Patons stretch? I started some knit socks with it, got about halfway through and stopped. I just didn't like that yarn very much. It was too stretchy, I couldn't tell if I was keeping my tension too tight or too loose. I love the regular Patons sock yarns, just couldn't get into that stretch stuff. Maybe I'll try again though.

Be sure to post pics of your socks when you're done!
Robin

o