Return to the Knitting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Please help with Yo, sl1, k1, psso, k2

Posted by sally_grower (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 4, 12 at 23:53

I am new to knitting and just completed a very pretty scarf called "Feather and Fan", so now I want to do "Christmas Lace" The pattern is Row 1 K3 Yo, sl1, psso, k2; repeat from * Row 2 is p3, *YO, p2 tog, p2; repeat from * to last 3 stitches, Yo p2 together, p1.

I have tried to do this at least 50 times and can not figure out how to do the pass over. Is it the 3rd yarn back that I pass over? I'm so confused now I'm about to give up!

Thanks so much for any advise or help. I did look at u-tube videos, but the only one that had this just confused me more!

Thanks again, Sally

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Please help with Yo, sl1, k1, psso, k2

I believe there is an error in that pattern. When you slip a stitch, it is impossible to PSSO because there is no stitch to slip the stitch over since it is the last stitch on the needle. Are you sure you have typed this correctly for us?

o

I agree with Donna. Either you have written it wrong or the pattern is written wrong. In order to pass a slipped stitch over you have to have something between the slipped stitch and the PSSO. You can't pass a slipped stitch over nothing.

I think your pattern should read

Row 1 K3 * Yo, sl1, K1, psso, k2; repeat from *
Row 2 is p3, *YO, p2 tog, p2; repeat from * to last 3 stitches, Yo p2 together, p1.

This makes sense to me because the YO replaces the stitch you remove with the Sl1,K1, PSSO and with the K2 together on the next row

Try it and see if it works

o

Thank you so much for trying to help me, I wish I could find someone to give me lessons! You're right I did type it in wrong! This is a copy of the pattern. It was free on Ravelry ao I hope it's OK to post it.
Is it the 3rd yarn back that I pass over?

Christmas Lace
Size: 76 inches long, 5 inches wide.
Materials:
size 6 knitting needles