Return to the Knitting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What Gives? Crochet hook sizes?

Posted by babka (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 22, 09 at 21:58

Looking through my Patternworks catalog where they are selling different mfgrs. of crochet hooks, they give different mm sizes for G hooks, as well as others.

When a project calls for a G hook, I have simply grabbed my G and figured I was home free. Sometimes it would not meet gauge and other times it did. (I've been crocheting for 30 years and I figured it was just me.)

According to their chart, a G hook can be 4.00mm, 4.25mm, or 4.50mm. Is that a surprise to anyone else but me?

My Susan Bates little metal sizer thingy has a hole for a G hook at 4.25. My Boyle G hook fits into the 4.50 hole which is oddly called a #7, which doesn't go along with the alphabet.

Wait, there's more:

I have a #7 steel crochet hook that is super tiny, and is smaller than my #4 steel hook, which is smaller than my #1 steel. These go way back and one even says 15 Cents on it. It looks like the steel hooks count backwards.

I guess the best way is to just go with milimeters, except for the steels?

More wine.

Thanks in advance for any clarification from those who are much wiser, size-wise.

-Babka

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What Gives? Crochet hook sizes?

The only info that I can give you is on the small hook, which is a group of steel hooks, used for thread work, whereas the aluminum hooks are for yarn.
The steel hooks go from 14, which is very tiny to size 00, which I have in my groups of hooks, and that is many. Collector here.
The aluminum hooks go from A, I believe, to N, or perhaps larger by this time. I am not a yarn fan, but have many of those hooks as well, not all the particular sizes. Don't know much about the milimeter sizes, I don't do a lot of work with items that require gauge, so that isn't an issue for me.